Notice Board » Announcements

Dr. K.M. Bhat Memorial Award- 2020

Dr. Kanthila Mahabala Bhat was a renowned Indian Researcher in the area of Wood Science and Technology and served as Programme Coordinator of Forest Utilization Division, Kerala Forest Research Institute.  His expertise lies in tropical hardwoods and non-wood forest products, their management and utilization with emphasis on Teak, Bamboos and Rattans. He had positioned many international bodies including as Deputy Coordinator, IUFRO and was recognized by prestigious honours and awards globally.

            In commemoration of Late Dr. K.M. Bhat, the family has instituted an award for the best emerging scientist of the year. In this context, applications are invited from the Research scholars who have submitted/ awarded their Ph.D. work in KFRI during the calendar year, 2020 (ie. 1st January-31st December). The applicants are eligible for the contest twice in consecutive two years. This is applicable to those who may have been unsuccessful in first attempt. The age limit is 35 years as on 1st January 2020. Candidates are requested to send their applications with a brief bio-data and write-up of not more than 1000 words containing academic work, publications, seminar presentations, social commitment and leadership qualities. 

            Applications should reach the Director, KFRI by post or by email indicating the subject as “Dr. K.M Bhat Memorial Award 2020” to on or before 31st December, 2020. Candidates are requested to ensure that their Ph.D. Thesis is available in the KFRI Library or with Academic Programme coordinator.  After screening of the applications, selected candidates will be invited for a presentation at KFRI, Peechi. The award consists of a certificate, gold medal and a cash prize of Rs. 5,000 and will be presented in a function at KFRI along with the annual Dr. K.M Bhat Memorial lecture.

 If there is any query on the same, please contact Dr. P.A. Jose, Principal Scientist and Convener of the Endowment Committee ( or Mob. 9495482748).

 Dr. Syam Viswanath

Director and Chairman of Endowment Committee

Date of notification: November 4, 2020 December 31, 2020